Login to myLSU
College of the Coast and Environment
DOCS > Scholarships

Scholarships and Fellowships

The Dr. Theodore "Ted" Ford Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences

Given at School of the Coast and Environment Christmas Party.
Deadline for nominations is November 1.
Honors Committee decide by November 25.

Purpose: In 1984, the friends and family of Dr. Theodore B. "Ted" Ford established a scholarship in his memory through the LSU Foundation. Dr. Ford was a retired former Assistant Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and a LSU Marine Sciences Professor Emeritus. The purpose of this scholarship is to aid and assist a graduate student at LSU studying marine fisheries and related environmental issues.

Award Cycle: The scholarship $1,000 is awarded in the Fall by the Ford family.

Criteria: Student accomplishments will be reviewed by a Committee appointed by the Chairperson of the Department.

(1) The student must be enrolled as a full-time doctoral student at LSU-Baton Rouge with a grade point average of at least 3.0. To be eligible the student must have maintained full-time status throughout his/her matriculation at LSU, the student may be eligible for this award if enrolled in his/her last semester for Degree Only. The student must have been enrolled in a fisheries-related field as an undergraduate or graduate and should be conducting research on estuarine/marine fisheries or, on closely related environmental subjects.

Nominations Should Include:

(1) Letters of recommendation;
(2) A curriculum vitae, including courses taken at LSU and grades received, and a summary of research topic.

Coastal Conservation Association of Louisiana (CCA)
J. Pollard Sealy, Jr.
Family Memorial Scholarship
Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences

Given at CCA event by early September.
Deadline for nominations is July 15.
Decide by July 30 by Honors Committee.

Purpose: To establish an endowed memorial scholarship fund in honor of J. Pollard "Bubba" Sealy, Jr. to reward outstanding graduate students attending LSU, through the Department of Oceanography & Coastal
Sciences (DOCS).

Award Cycle: The amount of the scholarship awards and the number of awards shall be determined by the selection committee in concert with the chair of the DOCS based on the annual net earnings of this fund.

Criteria: The recipient must be a full-time DOCS graduate student conducting research on Louisiana estuarine or marine finfish (including shrimp) that is primarily related and directly beneficial to the Louisiana recreational fishery. The student may be eligible for this award if enrolled in his/her last semester for Degree Only. The recipient will be selected by a selection committee which will consist of one representative of CCA-LA, one member of the Sealy family and three members of the Awards Committee appointed by the Chair person of DOCS (including preferably Dr. Richard Condrey). The recipient may retain this scholarship for one year.

The scholarship shall be withdrawn for any of the following reasons:

The recipient's being placed on disciplinary probation; the recipient resigning or "dropping out: of the University; or the recipient's failing to remain enrolled in DOCS and conducting research on Louisiana estuarine or marine recreational finfish.

Nominations Should Include: Letter[s] of recommendation (one from Major Professor), a short description of the applicant's research and his/her academic record.